Our Home – A Quirky Lookbook

Well, it’s almost Christmas (when did THAT happen?) and specifically this week I am wrapping up the chapter in my life working in healthcare (for money, anyway. Still volunteering – more on that later.), so I’m basking in the glow of the upcoming opportunity to put some more time and effort into tending to our home. Anywhere I have ever lived I’ve enjoyed creating a quirky artistic ecosystem. I believe that even if you live somewhere very small and/or only briefly, you ought to infuse it with character, leave pieces of your soul in the eaves, echoes of warmth and kind memories for the next person who picks up where you left off.

Keith and I don’t require a lot in a living space. Warmth, art, books, music. We start from scratch with rough materials, basics, and dream of creating worlds together. Keith is very utilitarian in his approach to home furnishing, giving me free reign to go nuts decorating in the way only a quirky punk-rock post-homeschooled artist can.

For instance, we needed a bookcase last week. Sooo...two awkwardly-stacked end tables and an 8-track player...

For instance, we needed a bookcase last week. Sooo…two awkwardly-stacked end tables and an 8-track player…

Bam, new bookcase.

Bam, new bookcase.

The rest of the current lookbook:

Most recent wall collection. We have a thing for photo booths.

Most recent wall collection. We have a thing for photo booths.

IMG_2624

IMG_2633

IMG_2625
IMG_2621

By the front door.

By the front door.

IMG_2367

I would like to also add that this wackiness was all very budget-friendly and mostly NOT inspired by Pinterest.

Although don’t get me wrong, Pinterest is great. Crack for decorators. I totally get it.

In fact, I’m on Pinterest (*shock, I know!):    My Pinterest Boards

Finally – some Christmas-ish things!

post23-8

Oh YES. we did. Our first ornament as a married couple is a Tardis. If you don't know what this is, BOY do I have a great show for you to watch. =D

Oh YES. we did. Our first ornament as a married couple is a Tardis. If you don’t know what this is, BOY do I have a great show for you to watch. =D

IMG_2616

The dog still needs to get a job. I am helping her create a resume.

The dog still needs to get a job. I am helping her create a resume.

One thought on “Our Home – A Quirky Lookbook

Leave a Reply

