Pumpkin Roundup

I have been elbow-deep in holiday related cooking and gift preparation as of late, and, as I sit here right now listening to the dog snoring on the other couch and the eerily gusty wind swooshing through the trees outside, I feel like extolling the virtues of everything pumpkin-related.

When do I ever NOT feel that way?

Pumpkins are loaded with Vitamin A and fiber and low in calories. Um, plus, they’re amazing.

I’ve been mostly whipping up a bunch of pumpkin butter, which is sort of like a light version of pumpkin pie that can be spread on toast. Something about having pumpkin pie on toast to go along with your coffee makes morning infinitely more agreeable.

Try not to eat all of it out the pot before it's even finished cooking.

Try not to eat all of it out the pot before it’s even finished cooking.

A variety of mason-type jars are available at craft stores.

A variety of mason-type jars are available at craft stores.

Here is a very simple and delicious recipe if you’d like to try it out yourself:    Make Pumpkin Butter!

By the way, I recommend AllRecipes.com to everyone. Since you can rate each shared recipe with up to five stars, whenever I look for something I will seek out the recipes with at least 4 if not 5 stars and then read all the attached reviews to see if any useful tweaks were made.

Do this fairly regularly and you’ll start creating a random collection of recipes which routinely knock it out of the park. Sometimes I feel like I might seem like a better cook than I actually am because I’m such a hardcore researcher/experimenter.  Or maybe that’s how becoming a good cook works.

To kick-start this for you, here is a whole slew of high-rating pumpkin recipes! =D

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Pancakes

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Pumpkin Squares

Chef John’s Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

