Cool Emerging Style Trends for 2013 (And a Look at Last Year)

Turquoise! Leggings! Cute dogs!  It's all in, folks.

Turquoise! Leggings! Cute dogs! It’s all in, folks.

It’s no secret that I am a huge fan of the broad concept of style and fashion in general. I love to watch styles evolve, flowering outward and then eventually diving backwards into themselves. Even at this point in history when there really is nothing completely new under the sun, the styles of things are always in motion like spokes on a wheel. And each country is the hub of its own wheel.

Style trends move in and out like breathing.

I saw a lot of shades of gray (no joke intended, hehe) last year. A LOT. As far as seeing it show up in magazines consistently, on people hanging out in restaurants and browsing aisles in stores. And I love gray, believe me. It’s been one of the primary colors of my personal style for the past several years. I feel the color gray understands me, as it ranges from its heights of heavenly silvery tones to deep, deep dusky slate. It’s polished and classy while also having the capacity for grittiness and edge.

Anyway, this past year there were a lot of beautiful grays paired with other light neutrals, often in the form of lace, and splashes of color often in the form of light yellows or mint green (layered, or in headwear or scarves and leggings). Also, lots of plaid. I mean LOTS of plaid (Which works very naturally for Keith and I since about half of our wardrobe is plaid). If you’ve been in the U.S. lately you know what I’m talking about. Grunge is BACK, baby.

I’d also like to throw out a few interesting observations that have been made over time about certain style trends syncing up with an economic downturn, at least a couple of which I have seen this past year:

– Skirt and dress hemlines tend to get longer when the economy is in a slump (Definitely noticed more of this last year, especially with so many flirty/swingy at-the-knee dresses all over the place).

– Lipstick sales go up and the colors tend to be bolder and more saturated.

– Softer, more natural hair colors are more prevalent, as well as hairstyles with soft flirty bangs (Think about it: A combination of less money spent on touch-ups and easy style options.)

OKAY! Enough about last year. Here are a mix of awesome trends I am already seeing and a few of my predictions for this year – with pictures!

Colors:

Pantone – one of THE authorities on color and color systems in case you didn’t know, has proclaimed Emerald as “Color of the Year” for 2013. Check it out here (beautiful pictures and ideas too):   Pantone Color of the Year 2013

And I believe with emerald will come her distant cousin turquoise and all the rich jewel tone greens and blues in that general part of the color spectrum. I’m excited about this. These types of greens and blues generally play well with a lot of color combo ideas and have a depth that always creates interest in a look. Yay!

I feel the need to mention that nothing in this entire outfit cost over $10. The top is from Goodwill, the skirt a Christmas gift from Forever 21, the tights $5 from Target, and even the boots I got on sale at Hot Topic about five years ago. Dress for less! =D

I feel the need to mention that nothing in this entire outfit cost over $10. The top is from Goodwill, the skirt a Christmas gift from Forever 21, the tights $5 from Target, and even the boots I got on sale at Hot Topic about five years ago. Dress for less!

Raindrops on the windshield.

Raindrops on the windshield.

I also predict more dark hair colors. Not sure why, I just feel it. Darks will be darker and blonds possibly more white-blond than ever.

Next:    Handmade EVERYTHING!

You and I both know this is already in full swing (Hey guess what, I’m on Etsy! Please tell me you already knew that.)

But it’s growing, man, this isn’t a trend, it is a freaking movement. Just a slice of the many reasons:

A great percentage of the “what middle class? Haha!”  is  borderline or Actually broke now, but we’re getting more CREATIVE broke, if that makes any sense. People adapt, and while several of us still spend plenty of time griping about it, more and more of us are stepping up and stretching our creative wings, becoming makers and crafters and DIYers and clothing our families and our homes in made-from-scratch beauty and sharing it with others. The vast movement of “handmade” makers of art and wearables is still growing, and all of us here on the ground are jazzed about it. We are spending less time passively consuming and instead are taking style into our own hands. I’m pretty sure I fantasized about an art world like this when I was a little girl.

AND, along those lines, here is my last trend report for today: 2013 is a year for Freaking Awesome Creative Engagement Rings and Wedding Bands. Yes, I had to capitalize every word, and I’m about to show you why in several pictures linking to actual rings. The past few years have been huge for do-it-yourself creative/unusual weddings (I was totally there myself earlier last year), and the ring section of handmade goodness is seriously catching up now. And hey, Bonus – A lot of these fascinating styles don’t cost anywhere near as much of your firstborn as you think (But don’t get me wrong, some of them still do cost that much, I’m just saying MORE are more affordable now). It’s not just about high mega-watt diamonds anymore. I love this. Observe:

il_570xN.329231603
il_570xN.341016672

My favorite of these - black gold and black diamond, looks like a spaceship...love this.

My favorite of these – black gold and black diamond, looks like a spaceship…love this.

il_570xN.366701529_6hlk
il_570xN.422061000_o9se
il_570xN.422172950_9grw
il_570xN.203725081

Keith's and mine are made of this darker silvery tungsten too. Really tough and beautiful metal.

Keith’s and mine are made of this darker silvery tungsten too. Really tough and beautiful metal.

il_570xN.371773335_4y8b
il_570xN.358725556_3jyp

Here’s to 2013!

Leave a Reply

