Progress, photos, and a great organization

The past couple of months have been a whole bunch of random great things, some of which I’ll elaborate on more this coming month. For right now, we’re currently enjoying a week+ break from 100 degree temperatures here. With it in the 80’s and somewhat cool and breezy in the mornings it’s actually possible to open windows around here without frying. Excitement.

The shop (specifically, Secret Room Homestyle) is starting to rock and roll. Orders, within a few weeks time, suddenly jumped to the extent that I had to put adding new items on hold because I had too many custom orders in progress. This is a good problem. People are particularly loving the travel wall art, and apparently I’m a hit with people who have anniversaries. Hooray for love and wanderlust! I really enjoy being able to communicate personally with my customers and hear why they want something like this, who it’s for, what the personalized nature of the art means to them. There’s so much love there, so much history.

New designs.

New designs.

969083_10100900650032468_1926504737_n

 

Really liked this one. 12 European cities. =D

Really liked this one. 12 European cities. =D

Making the interior packaging pretty.

Making the interior packaging pretty.

I've also taken up origami.

I’ve also taken up origami.

So things are getting busy and I’m yet to even add around ten new designs I’ve been working on for more completely customized pieces, including nursery and family tree designs. Honestly it’s just finding/creating the time and energy and streamlining my time management skills which could always use work.

It’s really exciting that this seems to be gradually evolving into something I could run full-time from home in conjunction with my other shop Dusty Festival, so there would be the best of both worlds: personalized home designs and vintage/upcycled fashion, both of which are like crack to me.

In fact, this week I’m especially excited to announce that with recent shop growth I am able to partner with a completely awesome organization called Women for Women International and sponsor a woman from a war-torn country. Women for Women International “provides women survivors of war, civil strife and other conflicts with the tools and resources to move from crisis and poverty to stability and self-sufficiency.”

They’ve been changing a truly incredible amount of women’s lives since 1993. Check them out!

http://www.womenforwomen.org/

 

Participants receiving hands-on agriculture training. They also receive business training to create a sustainable business for themselves and their families.

Participants receiving hands-on agriculture training. They also receive business training to create a sustainable business for themselves and their families.

If my handmade business can actually contribute to not only my own family but to the growing business and family of another woman who lives worlds away but, at the heart of it, wants the same things for her life and family (safety, sustenance, sustainability, growth and education), I couldn’t be happier.

This is how people and communities strengthen each other – by sharing and educating. Seriously check out their website, they’re great. You can also follow them on Twitter.

So all in all, this is a shout-out to my little band of customers thus far. I love your ideas and memories and enthusiasm, and am so glad I got to play a little part in it.

Leave a Reply

