Oh, the Colorz!

This past week, most of my time has been spent trying to sleep (“trying” being the key word), trying to catch up on lack of sleep, sleeping (sort of), making freezer food, or cleaning/OMGNESTING.

Also, replanting herbs in the window box:

Don't sneeze...

Don’t sneeze…

And drinking coffee in moderation:

Touch my coffee and I might shank you. Also, THIS awesome mug my mom gave me for Christmas.

Touch my coffee and I might shank you. Also, THIS awesome mug my mom gave me for Christmas.

Meanwhile, Baby Girl seems to be trying to kick and punch her way out of myself in every direction except for the right one. It would appear she’s inherited my sense of direction, poor thing.

Art-wise, I’ve been playing a lot with color, doing color studies and also trying to find interesting pairings of colors I wouldn’t normally think of. For the record, excessive use of color is a great way to stave off seasonal affective disorder (Trust me, I’m a doctor.)

Winter color study

Winter color study

The more I’ve been walking around our apartment thinking about color schemes, the more I’ve realized how much I gravitate towards “multicolor” without even thinking about it. Maybe it’s the boho in me. Strangely, oftentimes when I’m looking at Pinterest-type inspiration I want to pick out 2-color home decor ideas and whatnot, but apparently I don’t want that in real life. So at this point I’m just enjoying how much happier it looks in here with mixed colors  just All-over-the-place. And for us, it just really….really works. Try it yourself, a little multicolor might be what you’re looking for.

Guess how much of this stuff was free or from the thrift store!

Guess how much of this stuff was free or from the thrift store!

DSCN0101

By the way, I made the coaster this is sitting on by covering a CD case in fun duct tape. It wipes clean really well, too.

coffee nook. because...COFFEE. Note the multi-colored lights.

coffee nook. because…COFFEE. Note the multi-colored lights.

 

Thank yoooou, Target.

Thank yoooou, Target.

 

Brought back for me from India by a groovy friend.

Brought back for me from India by a groovy friend.

 

DSCN0092

Painting back this apartment when we move is going to be such a pain in the neck.

DSCN0093
Finally, for a little more color-pairing fun for you guys, here are four random 2-color treasuries I put together on Etsy this week. When I put these together I try to not only be really cohesive in the layout and visual appeal of the treasury, but I try to showcase work by both people who have been rocking it for a while and have great customer reviews and some makers who are just starting out/have just recently opened their shops.

Mint Green & Gray

il_170x135.512116459_1suv

Navy & Deep Rose

il_170x135.429736459_gsok

Teal & Orchid

il_170x135.563851971_5wd2

Gold & Tangerine   

il_170x135.440824508_dvky

Happy colorizing!

 

 

 

One thought on “Oh, the Colorz!

Leave a Reply

